Spiders, spiders and more spiders . . .

Whew!! I just got finished singing Eensy-weensy Spider for an hour straight with the pre-school class and their teacher. I haven’t sung anything for an hour straight for decades.

Now, I need you guys help – I need more songs for youngsters that haven’t got stuff in them that the kids here don’t have any experience or conception of. As it was I had to explain the water spout reference to the teacher. Teddy bear songs are out – no such thing here. Teapot song (my favourite) ditto! PLEASE start reminding me of kids’ songs I might remember. I just thought of Twinkle,Twinkle, so that’s a start – but I need two months worth.

I did a class with the Grade 8s today – some of them are 20 years old, but I’m glad they’re back in school. We have to work on learning about jobs for that class. I asked them what they wanted to work at when they got through school, and more than half of them said ‘Doctor’. I think it’s one of the few jobs they know the English word for, or have any concept of. I’m going to have to find a way to open them up to the possibilities, even if they seem improbable right now.

Also did a class with the Grade 7s. We were reading a story about a spaceman who came to earth to warn earthlings about what they were doing to the world. My visual and audible demonstration to explain the term ‘rap music’ had them rolling in the aisles.

I’m going to take the camp speakers over on Friday – tomorrow is a holiday, National Women’s Day (the men at the camp are taking it off, but you can bet the women will be working . . .) – and play some of my ancient Zulu pop songs and set the Gr 8s to translating them into English. I think that will be more interesting than using a textbook, and give them a wider vocabulary, though I may regret what some of that vocabulary turns out to be since I don’t know the songs.

There is a huge diversity of economic status at the school – I guess most schools get some of that. One little girl has her hair done in permed curls and streaked burgundy (at 7?? – is that usual?) and one little boy has a wristwatch. Many have no shoes, and their clothes have seen better days. But they are all so sweet.

In the Gr 3 class I was practising saying, reading and writing Please, Thank you, I’m sorry, and when I had the children line up so I could see their writing and test them on their reading (HAH! Memory is more like it) of the phrases I’d give them a little hug or back rub if they did well (they all did well, of course) and caught on that they were lining up again. I think many of them must not get much by way of hugs and pats.

Anyway, I’m hoping to find someone to take me sight-seeing tomorrow on the holiday. Cross your fingers for me – it’s sure a difficult thing to arrange anything here and actually have it happen.

Might not write too much if it’s just teaching stuff – let me know if you-all are interested, or if I should just write when there are other things to report . . . .

Lunch with the teachers

The school kitchen

1 Comment »

  1. grannym said

    If you need the words and music for any of the following songs
    I can scan them to pdf files.

    Jake

    Shoo, Fly
    Hey Diddle Diddle
    Cock-A-Doodle-Do
    Ladybird Ladybird
    If You’re Happy And You Know It
    Go In And Out The Window
    It Ain’t Gonna Rain No Mo’
    Old MacDonald
    Frere Jacques (Brother John)
    The Old Grey Mare
    John Jacob Jingleheimer Schmidt
    The Mulberry Bush
    The Animal Fair
    The Bear Went Over The Mountain
    It’s Raining, It’s Pouring
    Little Jack Hormer
    Alphabet Song
    The Spider And The Fly
    Where, Oh Where Has My Little Dog Gone?
    B-I-N-G-O
    This Old Man
    Where Is Thumbkin?
    Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star
    Hickory, Dickory, Dock
    Michael Finnegan
    The More We Get Together
    Morning Is Come
    Sweet Be Your Sleep
    Thumbkin

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

