Gotta run . . . .

Well, the new B&B is really nice.  Clean and quiet and also convenient to everything.  I’m taking some Mynah busses – that’s the city bus – and some Mozzie taxis, depending on where I want to go.

Yesterday I bought some new undies to replace a couple sets that got shredded in the bush laundry, and then went to see the Umgeni River Bird Park.  What a wonderful place that was.  They had scores of birds there that I’ve never even heard of, and have breeding programs for some endangered species.  Quite a few of the birds are out in the open, and I fell in love with a (macaw) guy named Rah.  He was sitting on a tree by the path and I stopped to talk to him.  He came creeping down the tree and then put out his leg towards me, opening and closing his foot.  It seemed he wanted me to pick him up, so I did and we had a wonderful snuggle.  He decided he had adopted me, and wouldn’t get off afterwards – a common problem with birds – so the staff had to come and take him off me.  It was great!

Did you know that one of the vultures routinely flies at 37 THOUSAND feet!!  and sometimes collides with big passenger aircraft.  His eyes are good enough that he can read a newspaper at 7 km.  All sorts of amazing birds.

Today I’m doing the African Art Centre, the Durban Art Gallery, and the Bartle Arts Trust (BAT) Centre.

Gotta run, tight schedule and computer time running out . . .

5 Comments »

  1. Donovan said

    hi, I hope you have a Happy Birthday and a good day.

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!
    -Donovan

  2. Donovan said

    Hey there how are you? Big hugs and a very happy Birthday.
    Love Crystal

  3. Eli Jakeman said

    Happy Birthday Toooooooooo Youuuuuuuuuuuuuu
    Happy Birthday Toooooooooo Youuuuuuuuuuuuuu
    Happy Birthday Dear Mawahhhhhh
    Happy Birthday Toooooooooo Youuuuuuuuuuuuuu

    Hope you’re having a great day.
    Don’t do anything I wouldn’t do.
    Love ya miss ya *muwah*

  4. Cheshire Cat said

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY, GRANNY EM!!

    Hope you’re well.

    Amazing about those vultures. A bit creepy, though…

    Anyway, I love you lots!!

    CC xo

  5. Kayleigh said

    Hi Maw,

    Hope you find a way to celebrate your birthday in style!
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

