Incredible weekend

I took off on Friday – had ordered a small car from the rental, and I got an SUV!  Now remember, I drive a SMART car at home.  So here I was, driving on the ‘wrong’ side of the road, with the shifter on the wrong side, driving a car where I could barely see the left side and surely didn’t know where it was!  I sweated for a while, let me tell you.

One of the aviaries at the cabin

One of the aviaries at the cabin

Cabin in Hoedspruit

Cabin in Hoedspruit

But I did the ‘panoramic route’ through the Blyde River Canyon and the scenery was just magnificent.  I wanted to have lunch at Pilgrims’ Rest, since there’s so much history there.  It had electrical lighting before London England did due to the construction of a dam and power plant in 1911 at the juncture of the Blyde and Treur rivers .  Blyde and Treur mean sorrow and joy in Afrikaans – that’s a long story, but a good one.

Saw the 3 Rondawels, Burke’s Luck Potholes, God’s Window and stopped at lots of other look-offs to see the view, which was more than spectacular.  Got lost twice – I *will* turn the wrong way every time once I get the other side of the equator!!  Didn’t get to Pilgrims’ Rest, but did get to the exact place (twice, yet!!) that everyone said I must avoid at all costs, did get caught in several road construction waits.

God's Window

God's Window

Bourke's Luck Potholes

Bourke's Luck Potholes

3 Rondawels

3 Rondawels

It was lovely and nice to be away from ‘the crowd’ and doing something I wanted to do and on my own.  Saw lots of baboons on the road, and goats and cows of course.  The scenery was so varied I can’t really explain it, and am not going to post any more photos until I can be somewhere that I can see what I’m posting.  The light here is so strong that even when I’m well under cover, everything looks very washed out and sometimes I can’t even see if I’m posting the right picture, let alone fix it up so it looks its best.

Saw lots of new birds, and at the B&B where I stayed they have several outdoor aviaries and raise birds, so needless to say I was a bit envious.

Craft market at lookoff

Craft market at lookoff

 

Craft market at lookoff

Craft market at lookoff

Drop me a comment – I’d really like to hear from those granchildren of mine . . .

ttyl,

Leave a Reply

