Busy, busy, busy . . .

Must NEVER open the windows when baboons are around

Must NEVER open the windows when baboons are around

Smart ellie has learned to climb and drink the cleaner colder water from the cistern

Smart ellie has learned to climb and drink the cleaner colder water from the cistern

Tomorrow I move on to my next destination, which looks now as if it will be an overnight at a luxurious home owned by the guide I had yesterday and his wife.  It’s set in a private “condo” animal preserve, so should be interesting.  It will be too late to start for Piet Retief by the time I get the car, so will have to wait until Sunday, and that’s only providing I can get a good map – google maps has very incomplete (almost no) information for this area.

Bushwillow Lodge - James and Sonja's place

Bushwillow Lodge - James and Sonja's place

Piet R for a stopover only on the way to Manguzi where I will stay for a few days.

More birds at Bushwillow Lodge

More birds at Bushwillow Lodge

Really glad I’m leaving the country now.  End of September is the time all the spiders, snakes and other incompatible-with-me critters start showing up, and they’re doing it fast.  Two nights ago had a huge – probably 6 in long – millipede in my room and a spider that got away before I could hoof it out.  Last night there was another millipede, small though, but inside my mosquito net, and what I later learned was a whip spider – probably one of the weirdest looking creatures ever.  They’re not small and the guy-of-all-work here who I call for things like that and he thought it was poisonous, so he smooshed it, but I read up on them today and they’re not really, so I feel bad.  Or maybe I just think I should feel bad?  I’m not entirely sure.

Some type of bee-eater I think, but gorgeous!

Some type of bee-eater I think, but gorgeous!

Finally got a half-decent photo of a lilac breasted roller

Finally got a half-decent photo of a lilac breasted roller

Went to Kruger yesterday.  Up at 4 a.m., left at 5 and in the gates when they opened at 6.  Amazing day.  I had NO IDEA how large Kruger is.  It’s bigger than Switzerland and has 21 ecological areas.

Three best occurrences were 1) Seeing a huge female hyena and a pack of black-backed jackals raiding a lion kill, 2) having a very large male Kudu jump from one verge of the road higher than the truck bonnet and right in front of it, clear to the other side of the road in one effortless bound and from a standing start, 3) there was a soft summer sprinkle of rain going on most of the day, which was good – animals that would have hidden from the heat were out, but this whole troop of baboons, even tiny babies, bottoms all up in the air licking the water off the road.

I think this is a (Harrier?) Hawk

I think this is a (Harrier?) Hawk

A little owl that lives in the trees in the parking lot of one of Kruger's Lodges

A little owl that lives in the trees in the parking lot of one of Kruger's Lodges

The baby squirrel that died has been replaced by another tiny one which fell out of the roof, so Sofi is feeling better.

 

Got to go and pack now, but can’t wait to share the photos with you.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

