Arghhh!!

I’m in Margate now.  Had a tire going flat on my way down today and had to stop and keep getting it filled up.  Will have to get it fixed tomorrow.

Rained all last night while I was at Tembe.  Nice to sleep in a tent – especially a luxurious tent with indoor plumbing – while it’s raining, but not so nice to drive down here in a day-long thunderstorm.   Couldn’t see the tail-lights of the car in front much of the time, and the roads aren’t built to prevent water buildup and the consequent hydroplaning, so it was a longer trip than I’d hoped. Still raining and 65 degrees.  I don’t know why I persist in coming here to get warm when I know it doesn’t seem to be the right time of year.

And to top it off, the GPS is mental.  Must have maps older than the ark.  Thank heavens friends told me just to come straight down N2, because the GPS kept sending me other ways, and I’d end up on these little dirt roads going into strange places – and on top of that it can’t correctly count exits on roundabouts.

Margate, and all the other nice little beach towns here that I was dreaming of have become one long single entity without break and with humongous traffic.  Doesn’t seem to be the place for me at all.

The bed is damp and cold so I’m not real thrilled about that either.  I don’t think there’s such a thing as a heater in this whole country.

Wish me some sun and warm weather, OK?

ttyl,

3 Comments »

  1. Maria said

    YIKES…I AM FEELING UNCOMFORTABLY COLD AND CLAMMY JUST READING THIS! I AM SENDING YOU OUR PERFECT SUNSHINE AND WARM AIR…THESE ARE THE TIMES WHEN VICARIOUS TRAVEL REALLY PAY OFF! I DON’T WANT TO BE IN MARGATE. SORRY FOR THE INTENSITY OF THESE CAPITALS. MY CAPS LOCK WAS ON. Stay the course! and thanks for sharing.

    • grannym said

      Your weather reached me. THANK YOU! Despite the weather people saying it was going to rain all the time until Wednesday, today dawned bright and sunny!! It worked, eh?

  2. Good to hear from you Gogo. The weather is frustrating. Manguz now has got sunshine

RSS feed for comments on this post

Leave a Reply

